This World

My darling daughter,

Your dad and I brought you into this world wrapped in love. You, my darling, are hope.

Why bring children into this mess of a world? Because, you see, you are my future. Our future.

The hate, injustice, well it’s been here all along. But there is only one you.

As I sit here, feeling overwhelmed with the state of the world, I think of your small body sleeping in your crib.

I can’t shield you from the bad, the ugly, the ungodly. But I can always be a safe haven, thought, memory to guide you on this beautiful & chaotic journey called life.

Do I have the answers? I won’t lie.

Can we figure this out together? Finding solace in each others arms when days stretch into nights and answers are nothing more than questions.

Strive to be equitable, inclusive, and stand up for what you believe in.

Pour love and hope into every action.

You will feel the weight of the world sometimes…like I do now.

When you do, it’s best to remember that we are all in this together.

Every. Single. One. Of. Us.

You, my darling, are never alone.

 

Leave a Reply

