Free Spirit Learning Rhythm

In the beginning of the year, I need at least a month for my students to settle into the rhythm of the day and classroom ways  so we can form a safe and peaceful classroom environment. I consider my students my family away from home.

This is my first year homeschooling and I’ve had a range of students come to my home school program throughout the year. Some stay for a few months and others have stayed the whole year. Homeschooling must be flexible and with such a small number of students (8 tops) I am able to differentiate and individualize instruction to meet their needs. My students range from ages 3 1/2 to 8. My youngest student comes only once or twice a week.

My curriculum is fluid and it is always subject to change based on student interest, questions and needs. I know the essential skills that my students need to master at each age and I’m able to use this knowledge to create hands-on, engaging activities. For an example of my student-led projects, check out my blog post: Student-led Inquiry in a Multi-Age Setting

I wanted to share our Daily Rhythm and my Scope & Sequence from this year. Student interest was key in forming this Scope & Sequence. One of my favorite parts of homeschooling is being able to teach from the heart instead of using a “pre-planned” curriculum or “teach-to-the-test” mentality.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 7.53.32 PM
Free Spirit Learning Rhythm of the Day
Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.16.37 PM
Free Spirit Learning Scope & Sequence
Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.17.11 PM
Free Spirit Learning Scope & Sequence
Leave a Reply

